Energie et environnement

La majorité des différends investisseur-Etat (ISDS en anglais) touche le domaine de l’environnement. Les multinationales utilisent de plus en plus l’ISDS inclus dans les accords de commerce et d’investissement pour remettre en cause les politiques environnementales. Fin juin 2019, 41% des arbitrages effectués au CIRDI concernaient les domaines de l’énergie et des ressources naturelles.

Parmi les cas les plus connus :

• Lone Pine Resources (US) c. Canada : Lone Pine a contesté le moratoire sur la fracturation hydraulique, utilisé pour l’exploration des gaz de schistes, prononcé par le Québec. La province canadienne avait déclaré ce moratoire en 2011. Elle voulait en effet mener une étude sur l’impact environnemental de cette méthode d’extraction souvent accusée de déverser des substances chimiques et des gaz dans l’air et les nappes phréatiques. Litige en cours (ALENA invoqué).

• Bilcon (US) c. Canada : la multinationale états-unienne a contesté les exigences environnementales canadiennes affectant son projet d’ouverture d’une carrière de basalte et d’un terminal maritime en Nouvelle-Ecosse. En 2015, un tribunal d’arbitrage décide que la volonté du gouvernement faisait obstacle aux attentes de l’investisseur. Bilcon est donc sorti vainqueur et a reçu 7 millions de dollars US de compensation, plus les intérêts (ALENA invoqué).

• Vattenfall (Suède) c. Allemagne : la multinationale suédoise de l’énergie avait reçu en 2007 un permis temporaire pour la construction d’une centrale électrique à charbon près de la ville de Hambourg. Afin de protéger l’Elbe des eaux usées provenant de la centrale, des restrictions environnementales avaient été ajoutées avant l’autorisation finale de la construction. En conséquence, l’investisseur a initié un recours à l’arbitrage, affirmant que le projet n’était plus viable. Le litige a été finalement réglé à l’amiable en 2011. La ville de Hambourg a dû accepter d’abaisser les normes environnementales (ECT invoqué).

Photo : Kris Krug / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

(mars 2020)

Tele Sur | 26-jan-2016
The ruling from the District Court of the Hague in favor of U.S. oil giant Chevron effectively exonerated the company from any responsibility for remediating the contamination in the Amazon.
L’Observatoire des multinationales | 22-jan-2016
Poursuivi par Total pour un litige fiscal lié au pétrole, l’Ouganda a rejoint le nombre des nations qui se posent la question : « Comment avons-nous jamais pu accepter l’ISDS ? »
Tico Times | 21-jan-2016
Infinito announced that it has secured funding from a lender to continue pursuing damages stemming from Costa Rica’s cancellation of the firm’s gold mining concession in 2011.
Kapitalis | 15-jan-2016
La Tunisie a été condamnée pour la première fois de son histoire par le Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI).
Market Watch | 14-jan-2016
The problem of TPP is with the “investment” chapter, which severely constrains environmental, health, and safety regulation, and even financial regulations with significant macroeconomic impacts.
Les Echos | 14-jan-2016
L’accord sur le climat ou la création d’une nouvelle banque de développement par les BRICS l’an dernier vont influer sur 2016. Mais le vrai enjeu, moins médiatique, ce sont les accords commerciaux restrictifs qui s’annoncent.
Seeking Alpha | 12-jan-2016
Ecuador paid $100M on Dec. 21 ; will pay another $100M on Jan. 15 ; $100M on Jan. 31 ; $200M on Feb. 29 ; $300M on March 31 ; and the remainder on April 29.
The Malaysian Insider | 11-jan-2016
The Malaysian government could be sued by foreign corporations if it intervened in their business activities under the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement.
Huffington Post | 11-jan-2016
Canadian company TransCanada’s announcement that it will sue the American people for $15 billion perfectly illustrates how today’s corporate-empowering trade policies threaten the way democracy is supposed to work.
eNews Park Forest | 8-jan-2016
‘The idea that some trade agreement should force us to overheat the planet’s atmosphere is, quite simply, insane.’

0 | ... | 1370 | 1380 | 1390 | 1400 | 1410 | 1420 | 1430 | 1440 | 1450 | ... | 1590

Energy & environment

Most investor-state disputes (ISDS) have concerned environmental matters. Corporations are using the ISDS system found in trade and investment agreements to challenge environmental policies. As of end of 2019, 41% of all ICSID cases were energy and natural resources-related.

Most well-known cases include:

• Lone Pine Resources (US) vs. Canada: the investor challenged Quebec’s moratorium on the controversial practice of hydraulic fracturing, or fracking, for natural gas. The provincial government declared the moratorium in 2011 so as to conduct an environmental impact assessment of the extraction method widely accused of leaching chemicals and gases into groundwater and the air. Case pending (NAFTA invoked).

• Bilcon (US) vs. Canada: the US industry challenged Canadian environmental requirements affecting their plans to open a basalt quarry and a marine terminal in Nova Scotia. In 2015 the ISDS tribunal decided that the government’s decision hindered the investors’ expectations. Bilcon won and received US$7 million in damages, plus interest (NAFTA invoked).

• Vattenfall (Sweden) vs. Germany: in 2007 the Swedish energy corporation was granted a provisional permit to build a coal-fired power plant near the city of Hamburg. In an effort to protect the Elbe river from the waste waters dumped from the plant, environmental restrictions were added before the final approval of its construction. The investor initiated a dispute, arguing it would make the project unviable. The case was ultimately settled in 2011, with the city of Hamburg agreeing to the lowering of environmental standards (ECT invoked).

Photo: Kris Krug / CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

(March 2020)

L’Observatoire des multinationales | 22-Jan-2016
Poursuivi par Total pour un litige fiscal lié au pétrole, l’Ouganda a rejoint le nombre des nations qui se posent la question : « Comment avons-nous jamais pu accepter l’ISDS ? »
Tico Times | 21-Jan-2016
Infinito announced that it has secured funding from a lender to continue pursuing damages stemming from Costa Rica’s cancellation of the firm’s gold mining concession in 2011.
Kapitalis | 15-Jan-2016
La Tunisie a été condamnée pour la première fois de son histoire par le Centre international pour le règlement des différends relatifs aux investissements (CIRDI).
Market Watch | 14-Jan-2016
The problem of TPP is with the “investment” chapter, which severely constrains environmental, health, and safety regulation, and even financial regulations with significant macroeconomic impacts.
Les Echos | 14-Jan-2016
L’accord sur le climat ou la création d’une nouvelle banque de développement par les BRICS l’an dernier vont influer sur 2016. Mais le vrai enjeu, moins médiatique, ce sont les accords commerciaux restrictifs qui s’annoncent.
Seeking Alpha | 12-Jan-2016
Ecuador paid $100M on Dec. 21; will pay another $100M on Jan. 15; $100M on Jan. 31; $200M on Feb. 29; $300M on March 31; and the remainder on April 29.
The Malaysian Insider | 11-Jan-2016
The Malaysian government could be sued by foreign corporations if it intervened in their business activities under the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) agreement.
Huffington Post | 11-Jan-2016
Canadian company TransCanada’s announcement that it will sue the American people for $15 billion perfectly illustrates how today’s corporate-empowering trade policies threaten the way democracy is supposed to work.
eNews Park Forest | 8-Jan-2016
‘The idea that some trade agreement should force us to overheat the planet’s atmosphere is, quite simply, insane.’
Eurasia Review | 8-Jan-2016
Venezuela doesn’t want investment treaties anymore if they give investors the right to drag the country before a commercial court. “The system has been set up to break down the nation-state.”

0 | ... | 1370 | 1380 | 1390 | 1400 | 1410 | 1420 | 1430 | 1440 | 1450 | ... | 1590